The Edutainment Value of Writing Historical Fiction

New Cover Image 2

Happy New Year! Yes, I know I am almost 30 days late, but it’s better late than never, right? Well, I have started off 2014 with a lovely bang. Towards the end of 2013, I published my first historical fiction novel, Murder on Second Street: The Jackson Ward Murders, and have received much praise and support for the work (although a few have chided me publically for daring to write such a novel on race in this era of “post-race,” but that’s another topic for a later day). I also finally finished the first draft of my second historical fiction novel, The Secret Life of Lucy Bosman, a work set in the antebellum South in 1860. Both novels are drenched in history, but are largely fictional, hence, my decision to share with you today my guest post blog for Shelf Full of Books on the edutainment value of historical fiction.

So, please read it and share with me your thoughts on this very niche-centered genre and it’s ability to educate readers and students. Click here to read.

~Rebekah L. Pierce

 

About rebekahpierce

Rebekah L. Pierce is an award-winning and bestselling socially conscious author and playwright whose work primarily focuses on contemporary women and family. She is also the founder and CEO of The Pierce Agency, LLC, a literary and publishing services agency whose mission is to assist aspiring and emerging authors and playwrights bring professionally edited and designed works to the market. To learn more about her work, visit www.rebekahlpierce.com and www.ThePierceAgencyLLC.com.
This entry was posted in education, Novel, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

