Creating a Mission Statement for Your Life & Art

If you have paid close attention to my posts over the last few weeks or have visited my blog/author pages, then you have noticed that I am a deeply spiritual writer. In other words, I am deeply connected to my muse. This is so because I have come to understand the power and need in the world for my gift, but it took me quite a while to get there. I had to go through bouts of depression, anxiety, a loss of a pregnancy, domestic violence and the subsequent closing of a business near and dear to my heart (www.averagegirlmagazine.com). But the universe does not take something away without replacing it, and what it gave back to me was a strong sense of clarity.
In 2010, I created a mission statement for my life – my purpose. I am an artist, and everything I do must come from that deep well. As artists, we must embrace our unique gifts and talents and understand that they are not ours to keep. A mission statement, therefore, helps you to establish your foundation – your footing. It provides clarity for why you are doing what you are doing and to whom you wish to be of service.

For example, here’s mine: “The mission of Rebekah Lynn Pierce is to be a positive inspiration to her fellow man/womankind through the light and joy of her spirit which resonates through her literary works thereby allowing her to be able to walk through opened doors of opportunity.” The statement says who I am, what I wish to be and for whom, how I will do what I am purposed to do and the outcome (why). This is your road map to YOU!

Today, I encourage you to work on developing your artist/personal mission statement. Be flexible and open, however, as you will find that it will need to be tweaked or even changed as you travel through this journey called life. When it is complete, post it to your author pages, websites – anywhere where people can find you. You will find that you will no longer have to fumble around trying to figure out what to say when someone asks you, “So, what do you do?”
If you need any help or guidance, feel free to connect with me here on my blog, Facebook or Twitter. Image

 

Note: This piece is also featured as part of Promotional Support Group’s, Inspirational Mondays, for aspiring and emerging writers on Facebook.

About rebekahpierce

Rebekah L. Pierce is an award-winning and bestselling socially conscious author and playwright whose work primarily focuses on contemporary women and family. She is also the founder and CEO of The Pierce Agency, LLC, a literary and publishing services agency whose mission is to assist aspiring and emerging authors and playwrights bring professionally edited and designed works to the market. To learn more about her work, visit www.rebekahlpierce.com and www.ThePierceAgencyLLC.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

