The Key to a Successful Self-Publishing Career: Hire an Editor

I am just going to keep it real with you all because I know of no other way to be. One of the biggest struggles I face in cross promoting the works of other self-published authors is that the work has not been professionally edited. Many aspiring authors think that there’s no need to spend “good” money on an editor when they can do it themselves or give it to their cousin’s best friend who loves to read.
As an English teacher, it hurts my heart to see great stories destroyed by poor writing/editing. No one can edit their own work. I don’t even edit my own books; I hire professionals to do it because great writing is a reflection of good editors. As a former magazine publisher, I had to turn away great stories because the writer did not have the work edited/cleaned up before they sent it to me (see www.averagegirlmagazine.com).
Here’s what I used to tell my students and I still tell my editing clients: your writing is a reflection of you. If you turn in poorly written work, this tells me everything I need to know about you. If you want to be taken seriously as a writer, 1) learn the art of writing (which is revisions), study your craft and 2) hire an editor (make them a part of your team: every writer needs a team). You could have a masterpiece, but the world will never know it because the mechanical errors blocked its beauty.
The lesson: save the money to hire the best editor(s). Impatience is the thief of success. ‪#‎justkeepingitreal‬

To learn more about my editing services, send an email of inquiry to editor@averagegirlmagazine.com.

Image

About rebekahpierce

Rebekah L. Pierce is an award-winning and bestselling socially conscious author and playwright whose work primarily focuses on contemporary women and family. She is also the founder and CEO of The Pierce Agency, LLC, a literary and publishing services agency whose mission is to assist aspiring and emerging authors and playwrights bring professionally edited and designed works to the market. To learn more about her work, visit www.rebekahlpierce.com and www.ThePierceAgencyLLC.com.
This entry was posted in education, empowerment, entrepreneur, Novel, playwriting, self-esteem, Uncategorized, women businessowners, women veterans and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Key to a Successful Self-Publishing Career: Hire an Editor

  1. billblume says:

    Rebekah, read this blog entry after an interesting conversation with one of the editors in the audience at last night’s writing show. She’s started requiring writers who hire her as an editor *not* to refer to her in the acknowledgements. The reason? Too many of them are ignoring the advice she gives them–good advice they’ve paid for, no less!

    • And I agree with her, Bill. I’ve asked the same thing. What’s the point in hiring me -the expert – if you do not take the direction? I don’t want my name attached to that product.

  2. Pingback: How To Define Success as a Writer | rebekahpierce

Leave a Reply

