DOMA, Love & the Arts

I grew up a strict Pentecostal and so I know full well what the Bible says about homosexuality, but I also know what it says about judging people. No one sin is greater than the other. When I wrote my short play, Sam & Roger, earlier this year, I knew I’d catch some heat from those who do not support gay/lesbian rights/lifestyle. And I have, even from those closet to me. But I’ve taken those very personal hits to my faith and gift because I am an artist and a teacher. I tell the stories that society would like to keep in the closet because it does not fit their belief systems or the lifestyle they wish to promote as right.

Sam & Roger is about a transgender male living as a female and a drag queen who is a successful accountant by day. What happens when their desire to have what every human is entitled to – LOVE – is denied them because of what they are? Pain – lots of it – and on SO many levels. My core objective with all of my work is to present the humanity in us all regardless of sex, race, gender, ethnicity or religious affiliations. So when I was watching a national talk show and a young black transgendered male was revealing his true identity to his intended-love, I witnessed a brutally, dehumanizing reaction from the both the intended and the audience. I saw a human being’s innate desire be loved annihilated. I HAD to write THIS story.

Today’s decision by the Supreme Court in striking down DOMA I truly feel marks a turning point in the subconsciousness of society – at least for some, that is. Our lives should not be governed by our prejudices or fears or religious teachings that historically were created to oppress and suppress those who believed differently and/or challenged the powers that be for “place” in said society. Again, no one sin is greater than the other. We are all entitled to love because we were made in love to love. Ancient philosophy has espoused this since the beginning of mankind.

Arts greatest challenge is – and has always been – to reveal the core depths of pain and joy in a manner that is both respectful and bold. To present love. And stories like Sam & Roger will continue to remind society that love is all that matters in the end. Alas, this is also my job as an artist and a teacher.

 

Sam & Roger is featured in the collection, On the Cusp of Humanity: A Collection of Short Modern Plays, by Rebekah L. Pierce. Order the E-book today at http://www.lulu.com/shop/rebekah-l-pierce/on-the-cusp-of-humanity-a-collection-of-short-modern-plays/ebook/product-21019079.html. Image

 

 

 

About rebekahpierce

Rebekah L. Pierce is an award-winning and bestselling socially conscious author and playwright whose work primarily focuses on contemporary women and family. She is also the founder and CEO of The Pierce Agency, LLC, a literary and publishing services agency whose mission is to assist aspiring and emerging authors and playwrights bring professionally edited and designed works to the market. To learn more about her work, visit www.rebekahlpierce.com and www.ThePierceAgencyLLC.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to DOMA, Love & the Arts

  1. Andrew says:

    Hello! My name is Andrew. Great blog you have there. Interesting. I shall look further into it! I liked your post. Would you mind if you could check out my blog and probably give me a follow?

  2. You are right on it! I just had a meditation on this while sitting in the energy of divine love. The message is clear. We are all love on the inside love. It is time for us to release our judgments in regards to seeing each person as divine love in human form, regardless of their sexual preference. Mwaah! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

