I am not simple, nor am I “just” Rebekah – For Whom the Bell Tolls

Let us rejoice today in knowing that we are not alone in our plights, fears and even joy. I am just coming off of a bad cold/flu. But I am rejoicing in that 1) I am well and 2) that so many people prayed for me to come through my illness. Why? I am no one special. I am not a celebrity or wealthy person. I am simply Rebekah. Right? No! I am not simple, nor am I “just” Rebekah. And neither are you “simple” or “just.” We are all interconnected in that our souls are here in the flesh to learn a great lesson about life, and that first lesson – a very old lesson – is that we are one. We are brothers and sisters here to serve the other. One of my favorite poets, John Donne (1572-1631), puts it best with his brilliant works, Devotions Upon Emergent Occasions, Meditation XVII: Nunc Lento Sonitu Dicunt, Morieris
 
“Perchance he for whom this bell tolls may be so ill, as that he knows not it tolls for him; and perchance I may think myself so much better than I am, as that they who are about me, and see my state, may have caused it to toll for me, and I know not that.
 
 
No man is an island, entire of itself; every man is a piece of the continent, a part of the main. If a clod be washed away by the sea, Europe is the less, as well as if a promontory were, as well as if a manor of thy friend’s or of thine own were: any man’s death diminishes me, because I am involved in mankind, and therefore never send to know for whom the bells tolls; it tolls for thee.”
 
Today, I rejoice in the awareness that I am not alone; that when one person hurts, I hurt, and visa versa. The bell tolls not just for one, but for us all. Be well. Visit www.rebekahpierce.synthasite.com today and check out the latest updates and news on events and happenings for 2013.
About rebekahpierce

Rebekah L. Pierce is an award-winning and bestselling socially conscious author and playwright whose work primarily focuses on contemporary women and family. She is also the founder and CEO of The Pierce Agency, LLC, a literary and publishing services agency whose mission is to assist aspiring and emerging authors and playwrights bring professionally edited and designed works to the market. To learn more about her work, visit www.rebekahlpierce.com and www.ThePierceAgencyLLC.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

