Writing Through the Pain: Why I Wrote Kryptonite Killed Superwoman

What a year I have had thus far! It has been like riding a roller coaster with no seat belt on to secure me in my seat. I’ve just been holding onto the seat bar for dear life. Like many of you, I am sure, I have seen my income fall drastically due to a career change that has both tested my courage and my faith. I’ve lost a dear, dear friend of over 20 years to cancer and am watching another one fight the often crippling affects of dialysis on her body. Much of this has nearly silenced my writing. I hurt too much to pick up the pen. But this little voice in the back of my head kept whispering to me, “tell the story.”

I ignored it as we all do the things that are too truthful to bear; I was too wrapped up in my grief and despair until two things happened. First, a friend sent me the rough draft of her new book. It was short, sweet, simple and to the point. Writing doesn’t have to be convoluted to be impacting. Second. An attempted suicide … in my own backyard, metaphorically speaking. What a wake up call! Just when you think your pain is deep, someone comes along and shows you just how much deeper it can truly be.

I could no longer be silent. It was time. I’d been working on this book for over a year. Writing what I could hear and there. I had to finish it and release it into the universe because it was no longer just about me. My fellow sisters – and brothers – are hurting and crying out for help.

Kryptonite Killed Superwoman: Trading in the Cape for an Authentic, Purpose-Driven Life is a collection of blogs (many of them from this blog site, in fact), articles and essays/presentations that I have written over the past several years as I have journeyed through this treacherous valley called life. They are as I originally wrote and published them. They reflect my desire to have it all, to be it all, and how this superwoman mentality nearly killed me physically, financially, emotionally and spiritually. I am NOT superwoman! I am a real woman with real issues living an all too real life.

Visit http://rebekahpierce.synthasite.com/kryptonite-killed-superwoman.php to learn more about it and to perhaps order a copy of the e-book when you are ready. My prayer is that it encourages you to keep pressing forward no matter how much it hurts.

Share your thoughts with me, as always. Be sure to spread the word about the book as well. It makes a great book club conversation starter.

Smooches and blessings,

Rebekah

About rebekahpierce

Rebekah L. Pierce is an award-winning and bestselling socially conscious author and playwright whose work primarily focuses on contemporary women and family. She is also the founder and CEO of The Pierce Agency, LLC, a literary and publishing services agency whose mission is to assist aspiring and emerging authors and playwrights bring professionally edited and designed works to the market. To learn more about her work, visit www.rebekahlpierce.com and www.ThePierceAgencyLLC.com.
This entry was posted in education, empowerment, entrepreneur, inspiration, leadership, self-esteem, women businessowners, women veterans and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Writing Through the Pain: Why I Wrote Kryptonite Killed Superwoman

  1. Artisia says:

    So, in a sentence, how did the “superwoman mentality” nearly kill you? What is the difference between a “purpose driven attitude” and a “superwoman mentality”?

    • Physically, emotionally, spiritually and financially, I put on 50 lbs on a 5’2 in frame, sent me into depression, nearly lost my faith in who and what I am purposed to do and crippled my finances/credit. A superwoman attitude is one where you believe and do try to do EVERYTHING without seeking help/assistance. You put everything before you and your emotional, phsyical and spiritual well-being.In short, your ego tells you that you don’t need nobody. A purpose-driven attitude is making choices based on an understanding of who you are and what you are purposed for. You live in the present moment – the now – and all that you do is wrapped in that awareness and understanding. The ego is annihilated as there is no need for it anymore. There comes a peace and joy that is authentic when you are aware and living with a purpose-driven attitude/life.

  2. Artisia says:

    I am assuming you now have a purpose-driven attitude; (although I thought you knew your purpose before – has it changed?) what sort of checks and balances do you have in place to ensure you are always acting with purpose and not with a superwoman mentality?

    • No, I found myself getting off track. I felt a strong sense of loss/detachment and I was becoming irritated and too sensitive. The checks and balances I have put into place involve meditation, prayer, walking in nature, yoga and journaling. I’ve come to realize that my purpose is to serve my community through my works: plays, blogging, speaking, novels, baking, etc. I work with words, but if I am clogged up/disconnected from the messenger of the words, then I cannot be of help to anyone. What I now ask myself is, is what I am about to do serving my community – my family – in the best possible light? Is it going to bring joy, revelation, happiness, confirmation, peace, etc? How does my body feel about what I am about to do? If it is tense, irritated, constipated, etc., then I need go back and re-evaluate. If my body feels light, clear, energetic, etc., then I proceed. So, bascially, I tap into my mind, body and spirit to ensure that I am living an authentically, purpose-driven life. It’s not easy because the ego wants to keep me in the past, holding on to pain and fear, or push me into false fantasies of an unknown future. But that is the constant battle we who wish to become enlightened and connected must go through. Be well, Artisia. Namaste.

Leave a Reply

