Check Your Ego at the Door, Please!

Wow! What an extremely tumultuous and eye-opening week for me! It started out with so much promise only to end with me sleepless on the couch: sleepless because of a sore throat and the nagging of my conscience. You see, I let my ego get the best of me these past few weeks. I let it make decisions for me that resulted in being way over my head in debt and in emotional despair. So, the universe took time out of its busy schedule to kick me in the ass, straight into the floor face first. Ok, message received! I tried to shoot for the stars with nothing but my big head and pipe dreams only to have never even left the launch pad. Here are my five tips to checking your ego at the door:

1)The Paradox; my desire to be “somebody” with “something” the world deems worthy caused me to make unwise and unrealistic decisions. Who am I to think that I am “supposed” to be “the one” who makes it? But yet, we are taught to think positive and shoot for the stars, right? That’s what our parents and teachers tell us: we can do whatever we set our minds to. Yes, but the problem is we often neglect to properly stock the rocket with the proper supplies for the journey to the stars. The paradox is not only the journey, but the preparation for the journey. Neither is independent of the other.

2) We take failure way too personally; we need to stop that! What I have come to now realize is that it’s about timing – God’s timing. Man wants what he wants when he wants it. So, in preparing to shoot for the stars, we neglect to check our fuel, the equipment, etc. We must put in the work – prepare properly – so that when God is ready – when the time has come – we are not just ready for take off, but prepared for the long, beautiful journey to the stars. Failure lies in not understanding and embracing the process of preparation for the journey.

3) We create our own hell by not paying attention to #1 & 2 above. In other words, I need to own my mistakes, be responsible for my own actions and fix what is within my power to fix, and then move on. I must leave the rest to the universe to work out – and it will because I have taken ownership of what I created. Does that make me feel good? Not at the moment, of course not. I am still smarting from my humongous ego tripping this week. But I also feel like I just dropped 100 pounds off of my shoulders thereby allowing me to ascend from the pits of despair.

4) Take care of your body. Trying to be the end all these past few weeks has landed me in bed rest with a horrible cold and voiceless. You see, the ego destroys one’s immune system when let loose. Because it covets what others have, it does not give your body time to rest and regenerate; it keeps you moving, putting the wrong foods into your body and not properly managing infections.

5) Success is about perspective! I – we – must embrace the things we do have and have done. They are good. Own the small victories – set and embrace your value. What you think you do not have, others know you have and want it. Success does not have to play out in front of the cameras – in front of the world; that is you seeking validation in the eyes of others. What do you see when you look in the mirror, when you look at all the things you have accomplished? If nothing, then “Houston, we have a problem!” At the end of the day, the only validating relationship that truly matters is the one between you, your conscious & God. And because he has given you life and you are still here to shoot for the stars, you are a “success.” And the things that you desire most will come to you because you – I – have come to realize that we are not just anybody, but SOMEBODY no matter our fears.

So, there you have it. My five hard knock lessons of the week. I nearly let my ego destroy my journey to the stars because I got distracted by what I thought I should have instead of owning what I do have. So you want to shoot for the stars? No problem; just check your ego at the door.

Have a tip to add? Email me at editor@averagegirlmagazine.com. Visit

About rebekahpierce

Rebekah L. Pierce is an award-winning and bestselling socially conscious author and playwright whose work primarily focuses on contemporary women and family. She is also the founder and CEO of The Pierce Agency, LLC, a literary and publishing services agency whose mission is to assist aspiring and emerging authors and playwrights bring professionally edited and designed works to the market. To learn more about her work, visit www.rebekahlpierce.com and www.ThePierceAgencyLLC.com.
This entry was posted in empowerment, inspiration, leadership, self-esteem, Uncategorized, women businessowners and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

