Just Ask Him!

I am often amazed at the insight of children; perhaps that’s because I believe, as do many, that we are closest to God when we are children because we have no fear. We use our imagination daily and speak freely, without tact, which sometimes gets us into trouble as children. But every once in a while, like a streak of sunlight peeking through a blanket of dark, heavy clouds, an innocent wisdom emerges.

He had just come home from school – my 10-year-old son – and I was hurrying him so that I could pick up the baby from the babysitter’s house across town. We had settled into the drive – I was deep in thought, and then he hit me with it: that deep knowing.

“Mom, why does it take some people so long to know what they’re gift is?”

I lost the air in my lungs for a few seconds. This was one of those life shifting moments and I – his assigned parent-guardian – had to be careful with how I answered him. Because this is where we make our mistake: trying to assign to ourselves a gift that has not yet been made fully and clearly plain to us, or worse, is not our true gift, but a borrowed gift.

So, I took a few more seconds, exhaled and said, “Many people never know what their true gift is because they refuse to accept the gift that God has given them. When I hear certain people sing, I wish that I could sing too, but that is not my gift. I am a writer, and I have to be happy with my gift because it’s special in its own way.”

And that’s the message I share with you today, dear Reader. Our gifts/talents/callings manifest themselves to us when we come to accept them. Coveting others’ gifts prevents you from coming into your own, and from living in the joy and blessing of that gift. Once you do so, then the universe will open up its bounty to you – the blessings that have been laying in wait for you.

“Okay, mom! So what is my gift?” he asks.

“Well, I’m not sure. It has not been revealed to me yet. You are a natural athlete and that is something special, too, and not to be ignored. Perhaps you need to ask God to reveal to you what your absolute special gift is.”

He sat silently for a moment and I could see him in my rearview mirror thinking this over with a furrowed brow. Finally, he says: “Yeah! You’re right. I’ll ask him.”

Ask him. Now that is wisdom. Out of the mouths of babes!

About rebekahpierce

Rebekah L. Pierce is an award-winning and bestselling socially conscious author and playwright whose work primarily focuses on contemporary women and family. She is also the founder and CEO of The Pierce Agency, LLC, a literary and publishing services agency whose mission is to assist aspiring and emerging authors and playwrights bring professionally edited and designed works to the market. To learn more about her work, visit www.rebekahlpierce.com and www.ThePierceAgencyLLC.com.
This entry was posted in inspiration, self-esteem and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just Ask Him!

  1. I just love this. I will make sure that I check in often when I have more time.

Leave a Reply

