Hold My Mule

I often marvel at the power of the universe and how it will reveal itself to us if we only pay close attention and then receive the message. This past weekend I had the pleasure of traveling to New York City to see a performance of one of my plays. But prior to leaving for NYC, I had a very dark dream in which I was in the belly of a whale. I was surrounded by its shadow as I lay on top of a kind of platform on top of a pool of clear water. I remember falling into the water as I looked at the whale beneath me and almost panicking because I thought I was going to drown or be eaten alive. But then, the water lifted off of me and I saw the edge of the pool and was able to reach the edge to safety.

Now, I had no idea what that dream meant and neither did the people I told about it, but I knew instinctively that it meant something. I learned a few days later that whales mean tranquility. Hmm! Ok!

Then it happened. I was in the middle of what could have been a very violent confrontation with someone who I thought was sincere about my work, but turned out to be a leech who was trying to take credit for my story. Now, the Rebekah of 10 plus years ago would have gotten into fisticuffs with someone like this, but instead, all I kept hearing in my head as the tension escalated was “hold my mule.” And I did. My companions could not believe that I was remaining calm and peaceful in that situation, and for a minute, neither could I.

But then it hit me on the way home last night. The universe had warned me about that moment; it had told me to “hold my mule” – my anger. That person was not in the right mental place to receive my message even if I had “cussed” her out. I had to learn in that moment what it meant to be tranquil.

I share this message with you today to encourage you to not only listen to the wisdom of the universe when it speaks to you, but to also hold “your mule.” Anger and bitter words often do not make the situation any better, even if you feel it will make you personally feel good to get it all out.

Blessings comes when we heed the messages, decipher the metaphors. My “mule” was my anger; the belly of the whale was the protection from the destruction of evil intentions, but only if I remained in a tranquil state amidst the darkness. And that’s what I wish for you today: tranquility in the midst of the darkness.

About rebekahpierce

Rebekah L. Pierce is an award-winning and bestselling socially conscious author and playwright whose work primarily focuses on contemporary women and family. She is also the founder and CEO of The Pierce Agency, LLC, a literary and publishing services agency whose mission is to assist aspiring and emerging authors and playwrights bring professionally edited and designed works to the market. To learn more about her work, visit www.rebekahlpierce.com and www.ThePierceAgencyLLC.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hold My Mule

  1. Sylvia Browder says:

    What a great message. There are so many times when we are faced with unpleasant situations but instead of stooping to their level… if we could just ‘hold our mule’ remaining calm and professional; makes a big difference.

    Rebekah, thanks for this awesome testimony and message.

    Sylvia

Leave a Reply

