That Sweetly Dressed Purple Pimp of Seduction

In pursuit of one of my goals to be a national speaker, I approached an organization about being their keynote speaker for their annual conference. I was told that although I was a great speaker, full of energy and with an inspiring story, I could not headline a regional conference because I have not had huge monetary success in my business/brand. Hmmm! Does that make my story, my voice, less valuable?

Part of me, the event coordinator businesswoman side, gets this, but the little girl from Stockton , CA with big dreams of being somebody one day, is hurt and is fighting the urge to retreat into the dark place where low self-esteem lounges like a sweetly dressed purple pimp of seduction ready to whoo me back into his warm, safe embrace. All I could hear the person on the other side of phone say was I was not worthy – I’m nobody. Have you ever felt that way? Yes, because we all have. Now how do we overcome this kind of rejection?

After that conversation, I sat for a while – still – trying hard to replace that negative message in my head with a new tape – a new program. No matter who we are and where we’ve come from, everyone deserves to have a voice. Will it be heard on a national platform or on a huge stage? Maybe not, but that does not make you – us – any less valuable.

True, I am not a huge financial success with a major book deal today, and my face is not all over the news or in magazines, but that does not mean that my story is not of value to someone. I just have to find the right place – the right people – to share it with.

Never give up! Tell that sweet smelling purple pimp of low self-esteem that you only stopped by for a second, but now you have to go. You’ve got things to do! That’s right! You and I have to keep it moving, stay positive and purpose-driven.

About rebekahpierce

Rebekah L. Pierce is an award-winning and bestselling socially conscious author and playwright whose work primarily focuses on contemporary women and family. She is also the founder and CEO of The Pierce Agency, LLC, a literary and publishing services agency whose mission is to assist aspiring and emerging authors and playwrights bring professionally edited and designed works to the market. To learn more about her work, visit www.rebekahlpierce.com and www.ThePierceAgencyLLC.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to That Sweetly Dressed Purple Pimp of Seduction

  1. Cassie says:

    Wow, well it’s unfortunate that they allowed themselves the opportunity to miss “hearing your voice”. It is my belief that God allow things to “happen” in order for something to “occur”, if you will.
    There is a reason why they denied themselves the pleasure of hearing your voice, and I can promise you it has nothing to do with your fiscal worth, God has something else planned for you, it just hasn’t yet been revealed.
    I only know you through FB and I love reading your comments and now your blogs, you are one tenacious woman, you are brave and you will succeed, you already have boo 😉 ….Keep being an inspiration you’ll never know who is watching and reading.
    Peace and Love,
    Cassie

  2. Candace says:

    Thanks for sharing this Rebekah and don’t listen to the nay sayers. In God’s time, all those dreams you have will be realized and you’ll be connected to the right people at the right time to do the best thing. The world has no control over that. I love that you are staying motivated in spite of the disappointment. That encourages me to keep going too. Self-empowerment!!!!!

  3. Sheva says:

    Thank you for sharing your pain and determination. You have a voice that is definitely worth hearing. It’s unfortunate that we live in a culture that is more prone to reward foolishness and mindless behavior and uses net worth as a standard of measuring one’s self worth. Keep doing what you do. It’s helping others more than you’ll ever know.

  4. laydeep86 says:

    Hey Rebekah!

    I enjoyed reading that post! You are absolutely right! Everyone deserves to have a “voice” When we first start off, we might not be famous, but I still think people should give others that are passionate about what they’re doing a chance and a place to shine. Keep up the good work!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

