Whoa! Stay in Your Lane!

It’s not to often that one gets a chance to see their future right before their eyes, but I had that chance yesterday and it came from an experience that many aspiring filmmakers, producers, writers and actors would KILL to have. I was blessed to have the chance to speak with a film executive/distributor in Los Angeles about my work … for an hour and a half!

Now, I have spoken often about knowing who you are and one’s purpose in life. And I have always known and shared that I feel that my purpose is to be a writer. I am a socially conscious writer whose work primarily focuses on the lives of contemporary working women and their families. My whole life’s work has gravitated towards theatre and the world of novels, so when I was approached about doing films, I jumped right in thinking it was a natural progression of my work. Well, here are two things I learned about myself in the conversation with the Hollywood film exec:

1. I am a WRITER! My heart and passion is in the storytelling. In other words, I have no business trying to be in the business of filmmaking because I do not have a passion for it. If I try to do it, I will be distracted from my purpose/passion and will lose my joy for the creative act of writing.

2. There’s nothing wrong with staying in my lane. We have to learn how to listen to what the Universe – God – wants from us, rather than what WE want for ourselves. Too many times we as humans try to force our destiny not realizing that in doing so, we are chipping away at our god-given purpose piece by piece. We must learn to love, respect and honor our lane.

So, yes, I want to be a world reknowned writer and yes I want the fortune that comes with it, but what I am not willing to do is to deny my purpose, my passion, by getting involved in something my heart is not passionate about. That’s how many of us, especially women, get distracted. “Sell Avon to make more money for your business,” “Be a consultant for this travel agency to raise money for your dream business.” NO! That stuff is a distraction from your purpose, hence, your destiny – your future.

I learned from the universe yesterday that I am clear about who I am and what I am here to do. My job is to tell the stories, and if I want to keep my joy for this special gift God has given me, I’d better stay in my lane. I must only do what fits in line with my gifts: educator, teacher, speaker.

I am a WRITER!

About rebekahpierce

Rebekah L. Pierce is an award-winning and bestselling socially conscious author and playwright whose work primarily focuses on contemporary women and family. She is also the founder and CEO of The Pierce Agency, LLC, a literary and publishing services agency whose mission is to assist aspiring and emerging authors and playwrights bring professionally edited and designed works to the market. To learn more about her work, visit www.rebekahlpierce.com and www.ThePierceAgencyLLC.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Whoa! Stay in Your Lane!

  1. SHERITHA says:

    SPEAK REBEKAH! You are so on point with this. We (writers, artists, etc.) often get distracted in the ‘side hustle’ of trying to raise the money that we end up losing ourselves and our gift right along with it. Doing things that we know we have no business doing. Been there, done that. The word of God says, “a man’s gift makes room for him” (Prov 18:16). Focus on the gift and the Gift Giver. It shall work out. Trust and believe friends.

  2. Janice Mason("Mrs. Peterson" :) says:

    I respect your decision whole heartedly. I also thank you for lighting a spark underneath me. It got me thinking about what my passion is and who put it there,and how long it’s been there. Be Blessed. Continue on your path. I would be very happy to be part of a cast for one of your projects. Please keep me in mind.
    Love Janice

Leave a Reply

