Don’t Be a Con Artist!

I’ve always considered myself to be a very honest and open person, but this was called into question recently by someone close to me. He called me a con artist. Why? Because I wasn’t being true to myself and my platform recently. You see, I have been an advocate for women for the past 8 years. I feel strongly that my purpose here on earth is to encourage, empower and educate women on being true to their purpose and identity. But I’ve been living a lie, lately.

I have not stayed true to myself. In fact, I have given my joy to someone who I thought loved me, only to realize recently that I am not getting it back. It’s hurting me emotionally, physically, spiritually and financially. How can I encourage women to step into their own purpose wholely and freely if I am not doing it myself? I am trapped by my kryptonite…and it’s my fault. I can and am admitting this here and now.

That conversationĀ called me back to ME. I refuse to be a con artist. It’s taken me years to accept who I am, and if the people I have brought into my space do not or cannot or will not honor who I am, then I must politely and purposefully move on.

So, to you, the one reading this now, don’t be a con artist. Stay true to who you are even when the world, family, community, etc. does not understand. Do not give away your joy!

Keeping you in my prayers to the universe.

About rebekahpierce

Rebekah L. Pierce is an award-winning and bestselling socially conscious author and playwright whose work primarily focuses on contemporary women and family. She is also the founder and CEO of The Pierce Agency, LLC, a literary and publishing services agency whose mission is to assist aspiring and emerging authors and playwrights bring professionally edited and designed works to the market. To learn more about her work, visit www.rebekahlpierce.com and www.ThePierceAgencyLLC.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Don’t Be a Con Artist!

  1. Girl,

    Do you!! Get your joy back….

    I believe you are already on your way.

    Yvette

  2. Tara Wise says:

    Sounds Great!!

  3. Kim Kennedy says:

    I totally agree……my motto for this year is “to thine own self be true” Don’t alloy your joy to be stolen, it’s no way to live…..

  4. Marquise says:

    Rebekah…I know…I know. I’m really late but I’ve been wrapped up in my own drama lately. It’s all I can think about. Ironically, I think we’ve found ourselves in the same boat. And I think your approach is the best way to take.

    You know a few years ago you told me that no matter what happens, at the end of the day, you have to affirm your life and yourself. And once again, you were completely right.

    You’re rubbing off on me a lot lady. And I think I like it.

Leave a Reply

