The Universe Schooled Me Today

One of my students approached me hesitantly after class today and asked could he talk to me. I said yes, thinking it was going to be another request for more time on a project. Earlier in the day, I had an encounter with a superior who took a moment to make me feel inferior, so my mood was a little dark as this student stood before me. I was SO not ready to hear another excuse. Then he hit me with it: How do you stay motivated?

There are very few times in a teacher’s life when they truly have a “teachable” moment, and those who teach know what I mean. I was totally thrown off…for a second. I saw him almost shrink within himself, perhaps chiding himself for having exposed his emotions to me at that very moment. This student was calling out for help.

Here’s what the universe asked me to tell  him, and you:

1. Not just know, but understand WHAT your purpose is. 

2. Create a vision for yourself and hold fast to it. Write it down and hold it on your person – always – for the times when the heaviness of the world tries to shut you down.

3. Only bring purposeful people into your inner circle. Haters are good for motivation, but they should NOT be in your inner circle. You need this circle to uplift you in times of need and joy, and visa versa.

4. Please know that “this too shall pass.” You are where you are supposed to be for this moment. But you will not stay there forever. Everyone must walk through the valley if they are to reach their destiny.

5. It’s alright to help people, but you cannot be of service to anyone if you do not take care of yourself first. Know who you are and what your limitations are: be clear on what you can and will not do.

As I said these things to him, I felt his pain begin to slide away and mine too. In that “teachable” moment, both he and I had been schooled/reminded by the spirit of the universe that WE matter…and so do you.

About rebekahpierce

Rebekah L. Pierce is an award-winning and bestselling socially conscious author and playwright whose work primarily focuses on contemporary women and family. She is also the founder and CEO of The Pierce Agency, LLC, a literary and publishing services agency whose mission is to assist aspiring and emerging authors and playwrights bring professionally edited and designed works to the market. To learn more about her work, visit www.rebekahlpierce.com and www.ThePierceAgencyLLC.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Universe Schooled Me Today

  1. Jane says:

    What a great topic. I would like to add also, that sometimes we are being re-directed. Usually not a redirection of our Purpose, just the path that we thought we SHOULD be taking. Try not to cling to an old path to long. Right now I am having to let go of somethings that I thought were so right for me, and by letting go of them, so newer, righter things are coming into my life.

  2. Saralee says:

    I applaud you for staying in the moment and responding from your heart. Imagine if we chose to live our lives like this 100% of the time!

Leave a Reply

