Standing Firm and True to Your Gift

I recently returned from a trip to Los Angeles and New York. I had the chance to pitch and present my stories to a group of media consultants and to see one of my plays performed on off-broadway. In Los Angeles, I heard the word “no” from all three of the panelists. I was dejected. I thought that I was such a fool for having left my children behind and spent hard earned money that was difficult to come by just to chase a stupid dream across the United States. But then something strange happened. The panel of experts said no, but the listeners in the room said “YES.”

Many followed me out of the room, asking where they could get the work and encouraged me to keep moving forward. I learned from this chance to chase my dream that there is an audience for my work. That the “experts” don’t know everything. I left Los Angeles and New York not with a coveted book agent or contract, or even the top prize for the best short play in NYC. I left having been validated. I am a writer. And no matter how many rejections I might get, nothing will change that because when you stand firm and true to your gift, the right doors will open and you will be ready to receive the “yes.”

About rebekahpierce

Rebekah L. Pierce is an award-winning and bestselling socially conscious author and playwright whose work primarily focuses on contemporary women and family. She is also the founder and CEO of The Pierce Agency, LLC, a literary and publishing services agency whose mission is to assist aspiring and emerging authors and playwrights bring professionally edited and designed works to the market. To learn more about her work, visit www.rebekahlpierce.com and www.ThePierceAgencyLLC.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Standing Firm and True to Your Gift

  1. Bruce Sallan says:

    Having “lived” and worked in Hollywood for a quarter century, I can only say that you lucked out to get ANY positive feedback. Good for you; good for your work. Now, “follow that dream” you mentioned in your latest post and come out for good – to either coast – and GO FOR IT!

Leave a Reply

