Letting Go of the Worry

I wrote this a few years, but after speaking with some entrepreneurs today, I think this message needs to reposted. Whether you are being moved to follow another path or just need to re-evaluate where you are headed, this message is for you. So,  here we go.

The last four years as an entrepreneur have been very trying for me and my Faith. With bill collectors abound and pressure from home to get “a real job,” I am ready to run for the hills, never to be seen again.

My problem is I let my worries get the best of me sometimes. I can’t seem to only focus on the day’s problems. I think about weeks of problems. But there’s a verse that crept into my spirit the other day when I was yet again lamenting about my dilemmas: “Sufficient for the day is its own trouble” (Matthew 6:34).

So, guess what I did? I let the worries of tomorrow go and focused on that day, and guess what happened? God heard my prayer for help. He sent someone I hadn’t heard from in over a year to help me with one particular problem.

You see, I am slowly beginning to truly realize that when God says “Yes,” it’s time to let the “it” – the drama – go. I can’t take care of everything, but God can…when He’s ready. And we mortals must be patient…something we hate to do. Why? Because patience requires that we put the issue into someone else’s hands. It requires that we relinquish control, and for a Capricorn like me, that’s like death.

All of my life, I have battled with low self-esteem. I was teased growing up for just about everything: nappy hair, knocked-knees, bottle cap glasses, and speaking proper English (go figure). I won’t even get into the fights I had over what I wore. I thought skirts down to my knees and big, baggy shirts were kind of cool, not to mention extremely comfortable. Something in me has fought all of these years to be okay with being who I was and for following that inner voice in me that said “go this way.” I’ve made my own path in life at a high price.

A gentleman I met recently sent me this scripture: “Trust in the Lord with all your heart; lean not on your own understanding. In all things acknowledge Him and He will direct your paths” (Proverbs 3:5-6). I guess he could tell that my Faith and my patience were wearing thin because I am still not where I think I should be in my life, career, business…whatever else plagues my mind.

But here’s the thing. This is the way it is supposed to be. I am at exactly the point in my life, at this time, where I am supposed to be and so are you. God says “Yes” when he is ready for you…when Time is ready for you. And when he does finally say “Yes,” we have to let “it” go…whatever the “it” may be.

This week, let it all go. Work on the day’s trouble…things that you can control…and keep in prayer about it. Be patient. God will hear you, and even answer you.

About rebekahpierce

Rebekah L. Pierce is an award-winning and bestselling socially conscious author and playwright whose work primarily focuses on contemporary women and family. She is also the founder and CEO of The Pierce Agency, LLC, a literary and publishing services agency whose mission is to assist aspiring and emerging authors and playwrights bring professionally edited and designed works to the market. To learn more about her work, visit www.rebekahlpierce.com and www.ThePierceAgencyLLC.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Letting Go of the Worry

  1. Marquise says:

    I’m really glad you sent me a link to your blog. I’ve been feeling a little down lately and your blog posts (all of them) have really been what I needed to get out of this funk. Especially this particular post. It seems as if it were written with me in mind.

    I am a born worrier. I worry about everything. And it gets me way down. I really need to slow down and live in the moment. Not be completely reckless but just deal with today’s issues before tomorrow’s arrives.

    I’ve saved your blog to my Favorites list. I look forward to reading more of your post!

    BTW, I have a blog too. It’s a little dramatic (hey, what can I say? I’m dramatic…can’t help it) but I think it’s entertaining yet true to who I am. http://www.marqmur.blogspot.com is the link. Check it out!

    Best wishes!
    -Marquise Murdock

Leave a Reply

