American Idol’s Got Me Trippin’!

So, my favorite show is back on – “American Idol.” I love this show because it gives me hope that dreams can come true, even mine. You see, the dream I have dreamt all of my life is to be a famous writer. I want to see my plays on Broadway and my novels on the shelves at Barnes & Nobles. And, “American Idol” makes me feel that this is possible.

But then I had an epiphany when I heard…HIM! He said to the judges after a horrible and painful audition: “I’d like to think that if I couldn’t sing, my family would tell me.” In the meantime, they’re standing outside of the door waiting eargerly with Ryan Secrest to see the golden ticket he so rightly deserves ’cause he can sing, right? Wrong!

No golden ticket did he bring to his family. Now, here’s what hit me. OMG! What if I am not a good writer and my friends and family have been saying I am because they love me and don’t want to hurt my feelings? Begin the Home Alone scream!

The show that I love to watch – that I ban my children from the room to watch – has just punched me in the gut like a heavy weight boxer. I’m down on my knees in agonizing pain. My life is flashing before my eyes. These people love me; how can they do me like this? Then, a moment of clarity.

How do I know I’m a good writer? I don’t! All I know is how I feel when I write; that I work hard to create a story that moves and entertains people; and that for me, writing is breathing. Do I really need Broadway or that shelf in Barnes & Nobles to define me? No….but, it sure would help some! 🙂

Here’s to another great season of “American Idol”!

About rebekahpierce

Rebekah L. Pierce is an award-winning and bestselling socially conscious author and playwright whose work primarily focuses on contemporary women and family. She is also the founder and CEO of The Pierce Agency, LLC, a literary and publishing services agency whose mission is to assist aspiring and emerging authors and playwrights bring professionally edited and designed works to the market. To learn more about her work, visit www.rebekahlpierce.com and www.ThePierceAgencyLLC.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

